Why Nestlé is Evil: It goes beyond infant formula….

199423_480959658610360_116953091_n

I’m just going to list links to various news stories, etc that will explain why I think Nestlé is a bad company.  I routinely talk about Nestlé on my Facebook page, so join me there to continue to be updated.

In the photo album on my page, Boycott NestléI’ve compiled many Nestlé photos and ads.  Here’s just two:

Nestlé ad from 1911

Nestlé ad from 1911

Nestlé ad from 1893

Nestlé ad from 1893

June 2012, Business Insider published an article called “Every Parent Should Know the Scandalous History of Infant Formula” which covers the history and why formula companies, especially Nestlé, are predatory companies that undermine breastfeeding.  Nestlé has gone into developing poor countries and promoted infant formula, which has lead to many deaths because of the lack of clean water sources to prepare formula safely.  And many families cannot afford to purchase formula after the free samples stop and by that time, the mother’s milk has dried up.  Boycotts of Nestlé have been going on since the early 1970s.

link to story: http://www.businessinsider.com/nestles-infant-formula-scandal-2012-6?op=1

"The Baby Killer," a booklet published by London's War On Want organization in 1974.

“The Baby Killer,” a booklet published by London’s War On Want organization in 1974.


KnowMore.org gives more history about Nestlé, including criticisms of other business practices they’ve done with the environment and human rights:

link to their history: http://www.knowmore.org/wiki/index.php?title=Nestl%C3%A9_S.A.

Baby Milk Action is a fantastic organization that works tirelessly to protect infants that are fed formula.  They are a watchdog group that uncovers predatory marketing and they have been very involved in Nestlé boycotts.

nestlemonsterthumbnail

I encourage everyone to go to their website and read up on all the companies and see how marketing is truly undermining breastfeeding rates in the world.  Here is some of their info on Nestlé: http://info.babymilkaction.org/monster

Unicef has put out a documentary on infant formula marketing and it’s affects in the Philippines, called “Formula for Disaster”.  Nestlé is very active in that country.

INFACT Canada, the Infant Feeding Action Coalition, works at protecting breastfeeding.  They also have information on their website about why Nestlé should be boycotted:
http://www.infactcanada.ca/nestle_boycott.htm

NestleBoycott

U.K. based newspaper, the Guardian, ran a story in May 2007 on Nestlé, entitled, “Milking It”, which covers the history of the company and why people boycott them.

Link to story: http://www.guardian.co.uk/business/2007/may/15/medicineandhealth.lifeandhealth

In January 2013, a video came out of former Nestlé CEO, Peter Brabeck, saying that water is not a human right and it should be privatized:

Many bloggers have also compiled their reasons for boycotting Nestlé.  Some examples:

PhD in ParentingWhy I Protest Nestlé’s Unethical Business Practices

Daily Momtra: Nestlé Boycott: About the Chocolate

Crunchy Domestic Goddess: The Great Nestle Boycott

According to this site, Nestlé tests on animals: http://www.nesteacrueltea.com/ActNow.aspx

Greenpeace launched a large successful social media campaign in 2010 in protest of Nestlé’s destruction of rainforests and killing of orangutans:

http://www.greenpeace.org/international/en/campaigns/climate-change/kitkat/

http://www.forbes.com/2010/03/18/kitkat-greenpeace-palm-oil-technology-ecotech-nestle.html

caught-red-handed greenpeace

I will continue to add to this page as I come across information and news stories.  In the meantime, here are pics and links to lists of Nestlé products to avoid:

Small list of products that Nestlé makes

Small list of products that Nestlé makes

from Wikipedia: http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/List_of_Nestl%C3%A9_brands

from Baby Milk Action: http://info.babymilkaction.org/nestleboycottlist

from INFACT Canada: http://www.infactcanada.ca/nestle_boycott_product.htm

from Crunchy Domestic Goddess: http://crunchydomesticgoddess.wordpress.com/2007/05/19/the-great-nestle-boycott/

Nestlé baby and toddler products to avoid

Nestlé baby and toddler products to avoid

To stay up to date, please join me on my facebook page: www.facebook.com/unlatched

or visit these other pages and groups:

https://www.facebook.com/NestleBoycott

https://www.facebook.com/groups/friendsofthewhocode

https://www.facebook.com/pages/Friends-of-the-WHO-Code/389134657832011?fref=ts

https://www.facebook.com/pages/Nestl%C3%A9-boycott-INBC/355169231175000?fref=ts

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

36 Responses to Why Nestlé is Evil: It goes beyond infant formula….

  1. Kari says:

    Very thorough. You have given the world an invaluable gift here. Thank you a million times! (Trying not to be too effusive, though I have to restrain myself from logging you on my Short List of Top Breast World Super Goddesses. 😉 )

  2. Vicky says:

    Check out bmj vol 346 20 April page 6

    • unlatched says:

      Are you talking about Nestlé giving out nutritional advice in Mexico? They’ve been involved with the PAHO/WHO and a bunch of us tried to campaign to have them cut ties with Nestlé. It’s a mess. I need to add that information, because they are also doing it in the United States, like in New Jersey, and I need to include information on how Nestlé is draining water supplies and selling it back to communities 😡

      • Geno Conte says:

        they’re buying all property in and near water, rivers, creeks, waterfalls. this way they will fill more bottle to sell to Unicef and other aid businesses, in the meantime the local farmers and citizens can’t water crops, or animals, and cannot maintain a well earned life. george w bush sent one of his daughters to south america to buy thousands of acres in and around waterfalls. now it belongs to the Bush’s. Scary. you probably already know this.

  3. Pingback: Why Nestlé is Evil…it goes beyond just infant formula…. | thepiepatch

  4. Pingback: Day 1 {8 Days to 80 Books} | Tiny House Trio

  5. Pingback: Cultivate a Sustainable Lifestyle with Mindful Consumption | Drink Soma Blog | Natural, Eco Friendly Products

  6. Pingback: Chocolate Chip Brownies - Natural New Age Mum | Natural New Age Mum

  7. Con says:

    I honestly dont know what to say… Nestle paid for my medela breastpump as part of my husband’s benefits. I’ve been breastfeeding my children 19 months and 6 months old.

    • Kari says:

      How lucky for you and your child that your life is shielded from the effects of the predatory marketing that Nestle and Medela practice, so that your breastfeeding experience was not derailed. Many, many families around the world are not so privileged.

    • L.G. says:

      Well Nestle has very low quality products and is trying to “counter damage” for publicity. But their ice cream was giving me allergy (Is the only ice cream that I feel bad literally after eating) and I went to find out why, you know why?

      Because they don’t use milk or cream. They use some remainders of milk and whey protein – beta lactoglobulin (which according to seller of whey for ice cream gives a reduction of 5% in the cost of “ice cream”). In my opinion Nestle shouldn’t be able to call half of their products what they are.

      Ice cream is not reconstituted whey protein (the remainder of the milk after cheese is made, so the rest/bad part of milk) with Carrageenan (another dangerous substance not needed in ice cream). That is what your kid is eating if you give him or her Nestle fake ice cream.

      They should call their ice cream “frozen sweets” and their cereals sugar caramelized treats because it has unnecessary bad quality stuff on it (like high fructose syrup instead of real sugar and good carbs).

      Do you know their Nespresso says they have 70% recycled of the aluminum caps they produce but that is just “collection” and they are not really recycled? Is just for fake marketing. And the data is valid for Switzerland where you get fined if you don’t collect right your recycables and you pay your trash tax per kg.

      I am not against companies, all have some greed but I think Nestle is on a bad path now. They are outdated and have not much care about the rest of their world. If you charge a high price at least have pride in the quality of your goods and give what you promise.

      I avoid Nestle and in my opinion my health is better thanks to it. I prefer buying some budget brands than Nestle over priced stuff.

      You don’t have to feel grateful or in debt to Nestle because they gave you a breastpump, is good marketing for them and they do it for stockholder’s report on social sustainability so they can make profit and have more investment into their company.

  8. Pingback: The big peoples. | How do I wish the world to be in 2050?

  9. Manda says:

    G’day! Just want to say a MASSIVE THANK YOU!!! I had NO idea that Nestle owned (part owned) so many companies. There’s a few listed who I’m shocked & disgusted to find on the list! I’ve been using Maybelline make up since high school, not religiously thankgoodness! I like to switch and change & try different brands. I’ve known Nestle are BAD for some years now & no longer buy their chocolate, biscuits & what not, but I only recently discovered they make Nescafé (which I’m an idiot for not connecting it years ago!) I guess since I’m not much of a coffee drinker I’d never really thought about it, but now that I know it has put me right off getting a Nespresso machine, which I’d decided on because they have aluminium posts which can be recycled so I thought they were the best environmentally – thankgoodness I looked into it before spending my money!! I’ve unknowingly given them enough, through my ignorance in not thinking to look into who else they’re “in bed with” so to speak!
    I’ve swapped to Australis & Face of Australia make up, as they’re cruelty free & Australian. I hope Nestle don’t have their hands in any tea companies pockets, because I’m a huge tea fiend! I was shocked when last night my boyfriend looked up nestle stuff after I’d been saying they kill orang-utans. I’m disgusted that I never thought to look into if they’re linked to any other companies I regularly or occasionally buy. NO MORE Maybelline or Garnier for me! I guess the upside is I HAVE looked into it now & can change my purchases. I went off Body Shop after hearing Loreal got their dirty hands on them, although there still are cruelty free products there that would be good to support those to get the message across, I still feel it’s supporting an overall bad move. So much more I could say, but I feel I’m only blabbering on now.
    Again THANK YOU for all your hard work & research in putting this together! It’s great to have so much valuable info all in one place & not have to search 1000 different things. Ten thumbs up, cos 2 just ain’t enough 😉 xx

    • L.G. says:

      They don’t really get recycled those capsules. Depending on the trash collector company they don’t collect them for recycling but Nespresso has collecting points of capsules in their shops. I dunno what they do with them after collected.

  10. Pingback: Did Nestlé’s Chairman Just Say Water is Not A Basic Human Right? |

  11. Ashley says:

    Yes Nestlé made the mistake of promoting their formula. But they did not set out to harm anyone. They were only providing an option to mothers who are not able to breastfeed. I think that you have blown this way out of proportion.
    Nestlé no longer advertises it’s formula in third world countries, and the directions on the formula strictly say to boil/sanitize any water before mixing it with the formula and giving it to an infant.
    As for the water’s comment, that was made a while ago, and that guy is no longer working for Nestlé. I have never read something so ridiculous in my life. Do more than a one sided research and you might find that this corporation is not nearly as bad as you have shown them to be. Bias is alive and well in this article, and it could definitely use some revisions.

    • Helen smith says:

      I think the crucial point you’re missing here is that they are child killers, they kill adults too but their target primarily is babies young children and teenagers.

    • Mia says:

      Do you know that Nestle has been placing African children in “work camps”, promising the parents that wages earned will be sent home to the family? Not only do the wages never come, these families sometimes never see their children again. I believe we call that slavery. No to NESTLE.

  12. david says:

    Nestle’s plan and mission is one of Complete Disaster for this planet and it inhabitants! Some of this information may be out of date BUT their mandate is the same and you can google or even take the time to travel to the places they have destroyed and talk to people first hand. As you have stated Asley Think before you make comments that are as ludicrous and Nestle!

  13. frugalmuslimahmama says:

    Really good article. I have friends and relatives from developing countries who were harmed directly by nestle products being deliberately incorrectly marketed. They now have lifelong health problems. Just a note though the boycott list above is for the US, in the UK and Europe NUK is a separate company not linked to nestle.

  14. Helen smith says:

    Very informative thanks.

  15. Pingback: You’re not yourself when you’re not being sexist? | alvertising

  16. Chris says:

    Don’t you think it would benefit humanity more if you focused on the actual people who own Nestle?

    Much like Mosanto and the “Bankers”. Get to the root.

    Attempting to treat the symptoms never resolves the problem. Get to the root.

    Get to the root
    http://www.truthfromgod.com/videos/get_to_the_root.html

  17. don says:

    have you ever wondered why on nesquik the bunny is dressed and at the back of the can he is naked except for the N necklace. with their professional eople in advertising, one has to wonder what message they are trying to deliver to young people. enquire at the compamy and you will not get an answer

  18. Gringorio says:

    I had the basic idea they are diabolical, but geeez, this is despicable at least.
    We have a friend in Puerto Varas, Vicki Johnson, making all organic dehydrated baby food here in Chile. The early marketing has shown great promise.
    She also produces the best chocolate I have ever tasted, also in P. V.
    I will send you some of her dark stuff if you can send me an address.

  19. Pingback: Day 1 {8 Days to 80 Books} - Tiny House Trio

  20. Pingback: Communications Strategy Start-Up: Nestlé’s ‘Infant Formula’ Scandal | Communications Strategy

  21. Ana says:

    Vey informative but you forgot to mention the massacre in Colombia promoted by Nestle avoiding its workers to unionized.

  22. Pingback: Rabbler | The Social Polling App>

  23. Pingback: This Is News – Nestlé #Maggi Banned | Sixth World Radio

  24. Pingback: 8 Evil Things Done by Terrible Companies | AintViral.com

  25. John Hinton says:

    I stopped buying Nestle products (at least ones that I knew were Nestle) 30 some years ago after a shocking 60 Minutes exposé concerning the selling of tainted infant formula to India and China. The formula was missing key nutrients and American babies were suffering from mental and physical deformities as a result of the formula, so the company sold it overseas to get rid of it. I can find no reference to this on the internet. I have a memory that retains over a dozen languages, so I have a hard to time believing that I have been boycotting the wrong company for 30 some years, and I am sure that Nestle was the company discussed in the exposé. Can anyone provide me with some information on this case or is pre-Internet age information being wiped clean from the public memory? I am almost positive that I was an undergraduate at the time that would place the episode and the case between 1984 and 1988.

  26. Pingback: Campaign Ideas (Draft) | themindatrisk

  27. Pingback: How Formula Avoids the Urgency of Creating Better Breastfeeding Support | Maya and the Moon

Leave a comment